Thursday, December 27, 2012

Waiting For Spring by Amanda Cabot




Waiting for Spring is the second book in Amanda Cabot's Westward Winds series. Charlotte Harding, a widow who uses her skills as a seamstress to support her blind child moves to Cheyenne, to hide from an evil man.

Barrett Landry gets to know Charlotte and he finds himself  drawn to the well liked dressmaker. Romance isn't possible as Landry is running for political office and is expected to wed another. 

Amanda Cabot is a skilled author who's stories keep the reader's interest and present a real picture of the old west. I enjoyed this book and believe it is an excellent choice for those who love to read Christian fiction.


Publisher's Description

After the loss of her husband and the birth of her baby, Charlotte has had a long, hard year. But when a notorious robber believes she knows the location of a long-lost treasure, she flees to Cheyenne and opens a dressmaker's shop to lie low and make a living. When wealthy cattle baron and political hopeful Barrett Landry enters the shop to visit her best customer, Charlotte feels drawn to him. If Barrett is to be a senator of the soon-to-be state of Wyoming, he must make a sensible match, and Miriam has all the right connections. Yet he can't shake the feeling that Charlotte holds the key to his heart and his future. Soon the past comes to call, and Barrett's plans crumble around him. Will Charlotte and Barrett find the courage to look love in the face? Or will their fears blot out any chance for happiness?

Saturday, December 22, 2012

Secretly Smitten

I've been looking forward to returning to Smitten, Vermont ever since I finished the first book in the series. Sometimes the second book's a disappointment but not when you have four talented writers who know their craft well. 
Once again I was transported to a town I'd jump at the chance to live in surrounded by characters I grew to love.  Tess, Clare and Zoe as well as their extended family are people I know I'd like to know. The only drawback is the book comes to an end (a very satisfy one at that) ... but I believe there's more in the works. When the next Smitten book is available you can bet I'll be one of the first to get a copy.  Thank you Colleen, Kristin, Diann and Denise for creating this continuing community of romance and faith.


Book Description

Summer, fall, winter, spring—Smitten, Vermont, is the place for love . . . and mystery!
There’s a secret in Grandma Rose’s attic—a forgotten set of dog tags belonging to her first love. But David Hutchins was killed in action and never returned to Smitten. How did the dog tags end up in the attic?
The mystery intrigues Rose’s three granddaughters—Tess, Clare, and Zoe—and they decide to investigate, though their mother, Anna, warns against meddling. But as the seasons turn and the mystery unravels, the three young women and their mother encounter some intriguing mystery men of their own. Has a sixty-year-old puzzle sparked something new for this close-knit family of women?
Join popular romance novelists—and real-life BFFs—Colleen Coble, Kristin Billerbeck, Diann Hunt, and Denise Hunter for four delightful intertwined tales of mystery and sweet intrigue.

Saturday, December 8, 2012

An Angel by Her Side


To be honest I knew when I picked up this book I would like it. Ruth Reid is a very good writer. Her Heaven on Earth series is one of the best Amish series I've read. She adds a twist to a popular genre that keeps it fresh.

An Angel by Her Side hooked me in from the first sentence and did not let me go until the end.  I could not put this book down. I was so caught up in the story of Katie and Seth that I shed happy tears at the end. I love to read a book that's so well written the characters seem not only real but like people you would love to have in your life.

Book Description

Please note that this is Book 3 in the A Heaven on Earth series
Katie has lived through tragedy and heartache. But with the angel Elias by her side, the best years of her life are just ahead.
When Katie Bender’s fiancĂ© died in a tragic accident, so did her hope of finding love. Though heartbroken, Katie is also practical. In the years since the accident she has discovered her gift for teaching. But when a tornado destroys her small Amish settlement, including the schoolhouse, Katie doesn’t know how she will provide for herself.
Seth Stutzman arrived in Hope Falls days before the storm. And when he helps usher Katie and the children to safety, sparks fly. But Seth is only in town to help his brother, Amos, get back on his feet following the death of his wife. He can’t afford to have feelings for Katie.
Rebuilding the community is a huge task, and soon, Katie and Seth are working side by side. As they privately wrestle with their feelings for each other, another silent—and ultimate—battle for their hearts rages unseen.
Sworn to protect what God has ordained, the mighty angel Elias appears to them as a mysterious visitor. And with his guidance, Katie and Seth find the courage to take the first small steps toward the life, and love, they were destined for.

Tuesday, December 4, 2012

In An Amish Kitchen three talented writers join together to give us three lovely stories of faith and love. The stories are well written and short but sweet. I highly recommend this book to those that share my fascination with the Amish.


Book Description

The Amish Kitchen is the Heart of the Home – and the Ideal Setting for Stories of Love and Hope.
Fall in Paradise, Pennsylvania, always brings a brisk change in the weather. This season also ushers in unexpected visitors, new love, and renewed hope for three women.
Fern has a green thumb for growing healing herbs, but longs for love to bloom in her life. Then the next-door neighbor’s oldest son, Abram, comes running into Fern’s kitchen seeking help for his little sister. The crisis soon leads to a promise of romance—until mistrust threatens to end the growing attraction.
Nearby, Hannah runs her parents’ bed and breakfast, Paradise Inn—but her life feels nothing like Paradise. She longs for a man of integrity to enter her life, but never expected him to knock on the front door looking for a room. Will she be able trust Stephen with her future once she discovers his mysterious past?
When a storm blows a tree onto Eve’s farmhouse, she has little choice but to temporarily move her family into her parents’ home. Outside of cooking together in the kitchen, Eve and her mother can’t agree on anything. But this may be just the recipe for hope in healing old wounds.
Three Amish stories—each celebrating love, family, and faith—all taking place in a tight-knit community where the kitchen truly is the heart of the home.
Also Includes Reading Group Guide and 45 Old Order Amish Recipes